Bible Reading at Marriage

by

I know the favorite choice among sorority girls/evangelicals is 1 Corinthians 13, but I say fuck that. I’m taking mine straight from God himself. Which verse you ask? Ok, and I know this is fucked up, but you have to admit it’d be an interesting experience if this was read before the vows, Mark 15:31-34:

In the same way the chief priests and the teachers of the law mocked him among themselves. “He saved others,” they said, “but he can’t save himself! Let this Christ, this King of Israel, come down now from the cross, that we may see and believe.” Those crucified with him also heaped insults on him.

At the sixth hour darkness came over the whole land until the ninth hour. And at the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”—which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

You know, I mean I know this makes me sound like a single, cynical ass, all of which are true statements. But, admit it’d be a hell of a lot more fun that hearing somebody talk about faith, hope, and love

2 Responses to “Bible Reading at Marriage”

  1. Wesley Says:

    To what advantage? What do we gain in emphasizing forsakenness in the context of commitment? I enjoy this renewal of cruciform theology and where it takes us, but at the expense of faith, hope, and love? Maybe not.

  2. Jeremy Says:

    This was supposed to be a perverse joke.

Leave a Reply

