Church Dogmatics

by

Apparently if you read 25 pages every day of Barth’s massive tome you can finish in one year. I should do something like that next year or maybe re-read the Hebrew Bible. Two years ago I read the New Testament, and I’ve read the gospels a couple of times in the last two years. Or I suppose I could read Lacan’s seminars instead. Perhaps, Freud’s Interpretation of Dreams and Psychopathology of Everyday Life. Maybe Kant’s Three Critiques or Hegel’s Phenomenology, Science of Logic, and Philosophy of History. So many books.

However, Barth is certainly the most important theologian of the last 100 years, and it seems fitting to find out exactly why. I have my reservations about Karl, but I recognize just how intelligent and penetrating so many of his insights were especially his ‘Nein!’ to liberal theology and National Socialsm.

I’d also like to make my way through Pannenberg’s Systematic Theology as well. I’ve enjoyed his work so much already. I liked him all the more because he published his great work on Christology, Jesus: God and Man much to Barth’s chagrin. Part of me would like to read Tillich’s Systematic Theology as well. However, I find myself not as attracted to Tillich’s thought because of its diluted sense of history and its overly-Heideggerian emphasis.

I have so many things I want to read, but it’s hard knowing in what direction to head. I wanna continue reading philosophy, theology, and Marxist thinkers but at the same time I feel pressured to become more knowledgeable about psychoanalysis to stay up to date on the field. Oh the choices…

4 Responses to “Church Dogmatics”

  1. A.J. Smith Says:

    You should read an Bible with the full eastern Orthodox cannon, like the NRSV, so you get all that deuterocanonical goodness.

  2. Jeremy Says:

    funny you should mention that because I just began listening to the NT save Acts and Revelation. I have some posts upcoming on the Gospels, and once I finish the epistles I’m sure I’ll have more to say.

  3. A.J. Smith Says:

    I was hoping you could read the Apocrypha and maybe do some good old fashioned Freudian psychoanalysis on the Maccabeus brothers or something….

  4. Jeremy Says:

    I haven’t read much of the Apocrypha. However, I have the read the First Book of Adam and Eve, which is fascinating: http://www.sacred-texts.com/bib/fbe/index.htm#section_000.

    I would like to do some psychoanalytic readings of Bible. If I get a chance over the break I’ll post my paper on a psychoanalytic reading of the Cross where Judas is the Mother in the Oedipal drama.

Leave a Reply

