Reading Goals for 2010

by

Here’s my ten goals. They decrease in order of importance. However, if goal one is met, I’ll probably be satisfied.

Read Barth’s Church Dogmatics
Finish studying Deleuze including Difference and Repetition and Logic of Sense
Study the Atonement through Church Fathers, Pauline literature, liberation theologians
Work my way through Lacan’s Seminars especially III, XI, XVII, and XX
Read Hardt and Negri’s Trilogy
Finish Freud’s Interpretation of Dreams and Psychopathology of Everyday Life
Read Pannenberg’s Systematic Theology
Familiarize myself with Marxist thinkers like Jameson, Althusser, and Benjamin
Read Jungel’s God as Mystery of the World
Study Spinoza especially Theological-Political Treatise

9 Responses to “Reading Goals for 2010”

  1. Reading Goals for 2010 « Sola Intellectum Says:

    […] 31, 2009 by A.J. Smith Since everyone is posting on their proposed reading goals in 2010, I figured I might as well join the party. I completed my […]

  2. A.J. Smith Says:

    I for one am salivating to read Barth’s CD. Presently, I’m reading his first attempt at a Systemic theology, the so-called “Göttingen Dogmatics” (I’m still in the prolegomena) and it is, to use a trite and overused phrase, amazing. I can’t wait to read what this man’s mature theological opus is like.

  3. kvond Says:

    Not knowing if you have read it, because you have both Spinoza and Negri on there, you may want to add Negri’s prison book on Spinoza The Savage Anomaly, one of the most satisfying (though difficult) books on Spinoza I have read.

  4. Jeremy Says:

    Thanks for the suggestion, how are Deleuze’s work on Spinoza? I’ve read his works on Kant and Nietzsche, but neither of his works on Spinoza.

  5. kvond Says:

    Jeremy,

    Deleuze is fantastic on Spinoza (I’m not sure how familiar you are with the subject), as he is probably entirely responsible for initiating the position Spinoza holds in Continental philosophy right now. He does in his interpretation bend Spinoza some towards his own goals (and there is some debate there), but there is probably no author that Deleuze is more kind to, and less critical of, than Spinoza.

    There are two ways to go on this. Deleuze’s monograph Expressionism in Philosophy is huge and clear, his Practical Philosophy is small and concise. Either provide good insight into the radical difference Spinoza can make to philosophy.

    But it depends if you are reading Deleuze on Spinoza in order to understand Deleuze, or to understand Spinoza, or both.

  6. Jeremy Says:

    I’m more familiar with Deleuze, and I am currently more interested in his work than in Spinoza’s (hence I’m working my way through Difference and Repetition currently). After reading Deleuze on Nietzsche, I think I have a feeling for how Deleuze appropriates different philosophers in very specific ways. Maybe I’ll check out Practical Philosophy later on when I begin reading Spinoza’s primary works. Thanks again for the recommendations.

  7. kvond Says:

    Sure.

    Deleuze is far less contorting or appropriating of Spinoza than he is of Neitzsche. For reference these are the publishing dates (wiki):

    Nietzsche (1965).
    Le Bergsonisme (1966). Trans. Bergsonism (1988).
    Présentation de Sacher-Masoch (1967). Trans. Masochism: Coldness and Cruelty (1989).
    Différence et répétition (1968). Trans. Difference and Repetition (1994).
    Spinoza et le problème de l’expression (1968). Trans. Expressionism in Philosophy: Spinoza (1990).
    Logique du sens (1969). Trans. The Logic of Sense (1990).
    Spinoza – Philosophie pratique (1970, 2nd ed. 1981). Trans. Spinoza: Practical Philosophy (1988).

    As you can see, his investigation of Spinoza corresponds to the years of his own philosophical explication.

    Best of luck on your reading. Negri’s Spinoza on the other hand represents perhaps his prison return to political philosophy. It is very convolutedly written, but in a beautiful way.

  8. Looking ahead, tentatively « Dømmer selv! Says:

    […] is just to say that I don’t think I’ll make any ambitious plans for reading yet (unlike Jeremy, AJ, or Robert). Of course, this is not to say that I don’t admire the various plans, but […]

  9. It Is Finished « JRidenour Says:

    […] back at my reading goals for 2010, I’m proud to say that I’ve accomplished 1, 2, and 4. Working through all of […]

Leave a Reply

