Reassessing the Purpose of This Blog

by

It’s been over half a year since my initial post where I charted the mission of this blog. In retrospect, I can say that I’m pretty happy with what I’ve accomplished. I’ve attracted some insightful readers, and I’ve tried to strike a healthy balance between philosophy, theology, and psychoanalysis. Unfortunately, I’m starting to question the general direction of this blog. For one, my posts on psychoanalysis tend to receive no attention. This is possibly due to my lack of clarity or perhaps the readers of this blog are more interested in philosophy and theology, which is fine. However, I’m going to continue posting on psychoanalysis (especially Lacanian) considering that this is what I’m actually studying in graduate school. Also, given my New Year’s resolution to read Church Dogmatics plus the stress of working 35 hours and graduate school, my blog posts as of late have been hijacked by Barth. While I intend to continue posting on Barth, I never had the intention for this blog to be remotely Barthian. To correct for this excess, I’ve decided that I will attempt to finish Deleuze’s Difference and Repetition along with Logic of Sense in the next month. After I complete my studies on Deleuze I should move onto Hardt and Negri (however, at some point I do intend to return to Deleuze to read his collaborative works with Guatarri). I also have on my plate Lacan’s Four Fundamentals and Seminar III (which focuses on psychosis). In my initial post, I stated that I wanted to put Deleuze and Lacan in conversation with theology because it’s clear that theologians have squeezed about all they possibly can from deconstruction, I stand by this statement. Hopefully, I’ll be able to incorporate some Agamben as well in the near future.

8 Responses to “Reassessing the Purpose of This Blog”

  1. A.J. Smith Says:

    Yes, please keep posting on psychoanalysis. I generally don’t comment on your psychoanalysis posts because I will only make myself look stupid (not that I don’t already). I think you’ll find that’s the main reason why your theology posts are more popular.

  2. Robert Minto Says:

    I’ve enjoyed your blog in the (few) weeks I’ve been reading it, as exemplary of a certain e-style that I don’t actually see that often — protracted commentary on single works.

    I suspect that the lack of comments on your psychoanlysis posts may have to do with the unfamiliarity of the subject to many of your readers — I know, as a commenter, that I’m much more likely to comment on something that I already have an opinion about than on something that’s teaching me new ideas. So don’t assume that lack of comments means that those posts aren’t read. Personally I’ve gone back in your archives and read some of the posts in which you attempt a conversation between Psychoanalysis and theology, and I’ve found them very interesting, so I hope for more of that.

  3. ericdarylmeyer Says:

    Ditto what Robert and A.J. said. I’ve got some interests in Lacanian psychoanalysis (mostly w/ regard to subjectivity as a lack, gap, or fracture), but nothing like enough reading under my belt to offer much of substance. I’d like to read over your shoulder though.

  4. dbarber Says:

    Yes, do Deleuze! And keep up the psychoanalysis. (There’s always time for Barth later.)

  5. Jeremy Says:

    Well, first off thanks for the response everyone. I also suspected that most people who read this blog aren’t too familiar with psychoanalysis, and I’m glad to see Freud and Lacan aren’t as boring as I suspected. I’ll also hope to post more on Deleuze, however I’ll go on record saying Difference and Repetition is the hardest work I’ve ever attempted to read in my entire life. Deleuze’s sheer grasp of the history of philosophy, psychoanalysis, mathematics, and science is overwhelming.

    I’d also welcome any comments on psychoanalysis. While I’ve read a fair amount on Freud and a bit of Lacan I am by no means an expert. I’m also a first year grad student. Whenever I become an analyst then I’ll be a prick if you misinterpret something as obscure as the death drive.

  6. Dave Mesing Says:

    I’m looking forward to more Lacan, too. I’ve been meaning to tell you that I found out we are reading Lacan in my literary theory class, which was quite surprising to me (both that we are reading him and that someone at my school knows who he is).

    I’m also looking forward to some Agamben. I started reading Durantaye’s book earlier today, and I’m looking into which primary texts to go to next. For the aforementioned class, we have to do a pretty big constructive paper on a text, and if everything goes right, I’m hoping to read a lot of Agamben (and maybe Foucault and some critical theorists) for the paper.

  7. Dave Mesing Says:

    Also, maybe in terms of a suggestion, we could do some kind of book event in the next few months on Santer’s The Psychotheology of Everyday Life.

  8. Jeremy Says:

    How surprising. What texts by Lacan are on the syllabus?

    I know you said you read Homo Sacer and a Time that Remains. I’ve read the latter along with State of Exception and the Coming Community. I hope to read Homo Sacer along with the Open this year.

    I’d be down to re-read Santner. At the time I don’t think I quite appreciated the text mostly because I was (and still remain) ignorant of Rosenzweig. However, I listened to a lecture by Santner here where he gives a nice summary of the book: http://slought.org/content/11085/

    Apparently the book was written in response to those who had criticized monotheism as being exclusive and violent (think Schwart the Curse of Cain). The book is an attempt to rethink the concept of the neighbor by putting both Freud and Rosenzweig in dialogue. We should consider collaborating. Email me and we’ll try to work out a schedule. I’d also be interested in doing a book event on Agamben.

Leave a Reply

