Projects to Come

by

As the summer begins winding down I’m finishing my goal of reading all of Lacan’s Seminars. I only have XVII & XX left. Along with reading Barth I haven’t had much time to do much else. However starting in early September I’m going to begin a four months reading project of queer and feminist theology (of course I’ll be reading CD IV as well, just started CD III/4). I’ve already read some major feminist theologians such as Daly and Ruether so I’m not going to be reading them.

Here’s my reading schedule. Dates indicate day of expected completion. I’ve found the best way to stay on schedule is to have a definite goal. It’s made reading CD so much easier.

Althaus-Reid – Queer God – 9/12, Indecent Theology – 9/26
Stuart – Gay and Lesbian Theologies – 10/3
Fiorenza – In Memory of Her – 10/24
Johnson – She Who Is – 11/7, Living God – 11/21
Ogbonnaya – On Communitarian Divinity – 12/5
St. Clair – Call and Consequence – 12/12
Ela – African Cry – 12/19
Kyung – Struggle to Be the Sun Again – 12/26

I’m especially excited to finally read Althaus-Reid. Also, St. Clair’s work offers a womanist reading of the Gospel of Mark, which should be interesting. Also, I welcome any suggestions on other works on queer theology. I’m trying to stick with works by a single author as I prefer those over edited volumes.

I’ve also been working this weekend on trying to figure out some reading projects for 2011. I’m going to be working on 1 major project and 3 side projects. My main project (which will span the entire year) will be to cover modern (mostly Protestant) theology over the last 200 years. Starting with Kant, Hegel, and Scheleirmacher (Christian Faith) I will move on to focus on theologians such as Bultmann, Bonhoeffer, Tillich (ST), Rahner, Pannenberg (ST). Next I will cover major post-Barthian theologians (Jungel, Jenson, Gunton, Torrance, etc) and post-liberal theologians (Frei, Lindbeck). I’m basically trying to read a bunch of systematic theology and go back to cover many of the important theologians that I’ve thus far neglected.

My three side projects will focus on atonement, theodicy, and liberation theology. The atonement project will focus on alternative ways to read the cross (Joh, Ray, Fiddes, Jennings) that do not simply advocate a substitutionary reading. My focus on theodicy will be to come to grips with the problem suffering poses to any theological system. I’m especially excited about re-reading Gutierrez along with Kitamori, Lewis, and Surin. Finally, I will end 2011 by spending a large chunk of time of reading liberation theology (with a major focus on Latin American theology). I will work through Boff, Sobrino, Segundo, Miranda, Petrella, etc. Next, I will move on to briefly study some Asian liberation theology and black theology. The project will come to completion by reading Carter’s Race: A Theological Account.

I’ll probably be tweaking some here and there, but that remains my broad trajectory of reading until 2011. I had way too much time on my hands this weekend. But, I’m glad that this blog will benefit by returning to focusing more on liberation theology in all its variants (Latin American, black, feminist, womanist, queer).

12 Responses to “Projects to Come”

  1. Robert Minto Says:

    Wonderful plans. If you blog through as well as read all that, then you’ll be creating a uniquely interesting resource here.

  2. Jeremy Says:

    I know I’m excited. One of my goals starting this blog was to highlight liberation theology, and I’ve yet to live up to that standard. Reflecting back now on a year of blogging made me realize that it was all the more urgent to make good on this promise. Hopefully it will generate some interesting discussion and promote conversation.

    Also since my main project next year is basically to go through the last 200 years of white, male Protestant theology it only seems fair to profile other types of theologies not done by the privileged.

  3. Jonathan Post Says:

    Very excited about this. I’m working through Kant very slowly now in preperation for The Christian Faith and CD. I will likely read along with you for Schleiermacher, Tillich, and a chunk of the liberation theology (particularly the Black Theology because It’s the most relevant to my future setting).

    When I’m most honest, I’m still happiest reading fiction. I might try to do something with some Latin American theology and contemporary Latin American novels, something by Roberto Bolaño or Horacio Castellanos Moya maybe.

  4. Jonathan Post Says:

    Okay, I just checked out the table of contents of the Althaus-Reid books on Amazon. I can’t miss those either!

  5. Jeremy Says:

    Well I certainly welcome all reading partners. Yeah Althaus-Reid ought to be interesting and offensive. Two birds with one stone…

  6. dbarber Says:

    Any thoughts on the experience of reading Lacan and Barth at the same time?

  7. Jeremy Says:

    Eh. I’ve found Barth to be hit or miss. Some of his volumes like I/2, II/1, and II/2 were really interesting. I’ve found volume III to be pretty boring overall. Reading Lacan has been interesting. He’s so enigmatic and playful. The dialogues he has with his students makes for a fun read. Whereas Barth tends to be repetitive sometimes I wish Lacan would explain himself more thoroughly.

    I have to say though when Barth’s on he’s on. Same with Lacan, and sometimes the shit he says is hilarious.

  8. dbarber Says:

    Thanks for the thoughts — the intersection of Lacan and Barth is intriguing.

  9. Jeremy Says:

    Yeah, I’ve looked pretty thoroughly for Barth on psychoanalysis and have found next to nothing. For some reason, he totally neglectec Freud in CD although he pays a good amount of attention to Feuerbach, Marx, and Nietzsche. I suppose like most good orthodox theologians he turns a blind eye to psychoanalysis.

    I did find a work that touches briefly on Lacan and Barth in Rieger’s God and the Excluded. He puts Barth into conversation with Lacan’s discourse of the Master. Lacan’s four discourses are in Seminar XVII so perhaps I’ll have some more to say on the intersection when I begin to read that seminar.

  10. Dave Mesing Says:

    Sounds interesting, Jeremy. Glad you’re planning ahead, and I look forward to reading along.

  11. Anthony Paul Smith Says:

    Some day in the future you may find yourself writing an essay on Barth and Lacan. When that day comes you’ll have so many readers… This looks like a really interesting reading list. Can’t wait to hear the reflections.

  12. Jeremy Says:

    Thanks for the kind words. I’m finishing this summer reading the later Lacan and some of Lacan’s essays in Ecrits that look especially ripe for theological discussion. I also want to direct readers towards an essay by Braungardt entitled Theology After Lacan: A Psychoanalytic Approach to Theological Discourse in Other Voices, 1(3), 1/1999.

    It’s a real tour de force through Lacan and has some theological comments at the end. It’s well worth the read.

Leave a Reply

