Quick Observation

by

Today the Tea Party hosted the restoring honor event in DC. Unfortunately my friend and I were walking around my campus (GWU), which is very close to the Lincoln Memorial. Unsurprisingly the metro was absolutely congested with tea partiers. My friend and I detected a curious pattern amongst these patriots. Apparently to qualify for this group you have to be white, middle-aged, and wear a fanny-pack. I swear to God I did not see one non-white person in the gigantic group of tea partiers (of course they are the ones carrying on King’s dream). Fortunately Al Sharpton was hosting a reclaiming the dream march at Dunbar High School. You know I think my major problem with the partiers is that they think are carrying on the Christian/American legacy. I’m OK with them being nationalists, but I feel as if they should have to make a choice: Christianity or nationalism. You can’t have both.

5 Responses to “Quick Observation”

  1. Wes Says:

    What my grandma wrote on Facebook today: “Thank God for Glen Beck waking up American [sic]. We (America) needs to Turn Our Eyes Upon JESUS. Amazing Grace.”

  2. Jeremy Says:

    I feel sorry for your grandma. Matthew 7:14, “But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

  3. Austin Says:

    “but I feel as if they should have to make a choice: Christianity or nationalism. You can’t have both.”

    Exactly!

  4. Dave Mesing Says:

    My aunt was there, and if I were a betting man, I’d guess she had a fanny pack on.

    I kind of want to look up some online videos of what happened, since I don’t have TV (due to money, not some kind of ascetic choice) and couldn’t watch. But I’m thinking better of it.

  5. Jeremy Says:

    Weirdly enough it appears that it was mostly a religious rally. Basically Beck exhorted everyone to return to God and the founding fathers to help save America. In sum, he’s committing the age-old mistake with his nostalgia for the past that never was.

Leave a Reply

