Church Dogmatics and Scripture

by

As I’m trying to finish up CD IV/I this week, something crossed my mind. I’m wondering what verse of Scripture Barth quotes most frequently throughout his Dogmatics. I’d try and do some research myself, but I’ve been checking out the Dogmatics from my local university. I’d wager that he either quotes 2 Cor 5:19 (God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself) or Mk 15:34 (my God, my God why hast thou Forsaken me?). The latter verse is referenced over 10 times alone in CD IV/I. Anyway, it’s just a hypothesis but I’ve noticed Barth seems especially fond of both of those verses.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to post some thoughts on CD IV/I at the end of the week. Section §59 entitled the Obedience of the Son of God has to be one of the greatest portions of the Dogmatics.

One Response to “Church Dogmatics and Scripture”

  1. A.J. Smith Says:

    You’d probably have to spend the $700.00 to get the electronic edition which could probably tell you the Bible verse most oft quoted by Barth.

    http://www.logos.com/products/details/2607

Leave a Reply

