Local Happenings

by

I wanted to update my readers about some upcoming events.

1) I’ll be rejoining a Lacan study group at the Washington School of Psychiatry starting on February 9th. We’ll be reading Lacan and Freud, and the group we’ll meet every other Wednesday. Contact me if you’re interested in joining. The cost for students is $15/session.

2) At my local church in Arlington, I’ll begin teaching a theology class starting in March on Sunday mornings at 9:45. I think I’ll begin teaching a class on a theology of Holy Saturday. After that I’m hoping the class picks up some steam as we begin to wade through Grenz’s 20th Century Theology. I’m fairly open to teaching whatever, everything from postmodern theology to the church fathers. The Grenz book will be a way to open up the range of possibilities of different theologies the class could explore further. Eventually I’d like to spend some time that would align with my other supplemental projects: atonement (Feb-Apr), theodicy (May-July), liberation theology (Aug-Dec). I’ve thought about teaching Kotsko’s Politics of Redemption because it’s on my reading list (and Catholic U just got it in), and it integrates a variety of themes I’d like to cover: patristics, atonement, liberation theology, etc. I’ll keep readers updated. Also, I’d invite any lurkers from the DC area to join me.

8 Responses to “Local Happenings”

  1. A.J. Smith Says:

    Grenz textbook seems like the ideal choice. I wish I lived in the area, I’d stop in.

  2. Jeremy Says:

    You’d probably feel right at home given the snowstorm that’s hitting the District tonight.

    I wished there was a new edition of the Grenz textbook that included updates on newer theological schools: postliberal theology, other liberation theologies (womanist, queer, etc), radical orthodoxy, postmodern theology. Ford’s book on modern theologians is too damn long. This recent one (http://tinyurl.com/4n5848s) by Kennedy looks alright. Although there’s no organization, and I’m really confused by some of his choices (Cupitt over Pannenberg or Hick over Niebuhr???).

  3. Stephen Says:

    Funny, I just started Kotsko’s book. (As you probably know) he does a good job of clearly and concisely explaining concepts that can be difficult in the primary texts (e.g. Bonhoeffer’s religionless Christianity) and then linking them to other similar projects.

  4. Jeremy Says:

    Would an intelligent church-goer be able to follow his argument, in your opinion?

  5. Stephen Says:

    I think there are large sections that could be followed by an intelligent lay person. Sometimes though, like when he draws on the philosophy of Jean-Luc Nancy, it would probably be tough for anyone who isn’t already thinking philosophically.

  6. Jeremy Says:

    Good to hear. I’ll have to consider that in the future.

  7. A.J. Smith Says:

    I’m not sure if it can be followed completely by a layman, but I found the second volume of Modern Christian Thought textbook to be quite good, it has entries to Womanist, and radical theology, like Mark Taylor and Jean-luc Marion, and even Hauerwas have their own entries. Plus it has pictures.

  8. Jeremy Says:

    Yeah I looked at it, but it’s still too long (500 pages). It does appear to be the most up to date.

Leave a Reply

