Safe Bet

by

I think it’s a safe bet to assume that the outrage over Rob Bell’s newest book (that tends towards universalism) confirms my suspicions that the majority of Christians are against universalism because they hate the idea that non-Christians might not go to Hell. I’d write more extensively about this, but I couldn’t care less about Heaven or Hell.  All these debates remind me just how correct liberation theologians are in their insistence on the importance of emancipation and reconciliation in this world.

6 Responses to “Safe Bet”

  1. Jackson Pitts Says:

    I only recently returned to thinking about heaven. It was the dying of a very dear elderly friend that made me return to it. In the last couple of years of his life, it became very clear to me that he was “just getting started” as I say. The feeling had nothing to do with salvation or reward or paradise. It was just a very deep conviction that his existence was nowhere near over.

  2. A.J. Smith Says:

    I don’t understand, John Piper says natural disasters are all part of God’s plan, that he is actively willing the killing of these people, and he’s orthodox?

    But Bell puts forth a rather benign thesis that “love wins” (and he’s not even a universalist as I understand it) but he’s now a great heretic.

    I’m sorry, I just don’t understand North American Christianity.

  3. William Says:

    I thought the same thing when the furor over Bell’s new book hit. I find the doctrines espoused by ‘orthodox’ theologians such as Piper to be much more disturbing and dare I say blasphemous than anything Bell is putting forth.

  4. Jeremy Says:

    There’s an official moratorium now on discussing John Piper on this blog. This is a blog that reflects on Christian theology, philosophy, and psychoanalysis. Here, we don’t have time to discuss the work of nihilists, especially of the Christian type.

  5. Wes Says:

    @Jeremy, I will support the moratorium against Piper. Also, regarding your thoughts on Liberation theology, I think Rob would respond with a resounds, Yes! His eschatology is very affirming of a present reality. For example, “…when Jesus talked about heaven, he was talking about our present eternal, intense, real experiences of joy, peace, and love in this life, this side of death and the age to come. HEaven for Jesus wasn’t just ‘someday’; it was a present reality. Jesus blurs the lines, inviting the rich man, and us, into the merging of heaven and earth, the future and present, here and now.”

    I’m currently working my way through the book for the second time.

  6. Jeremy Says:

    Wes, I agree with you that Bell would say that. I’m just having trouble talking about these concepts like salvation, heaven and hell. When quite frankly earth is hell. Sometimes it can serve to distract us from the present here and now. As Guiterrez would say God is a God of life, bread and water.

Leave a Reply

